Fraud Bureau


Mission Statement:

The Fraud Unit protects the public from economic harm by investigating allegations of criminal insurance fraud. Responsibilities include receiving and reviewing reports of fraud, initiating inquiries and conducting investigations when the Department has reason to believe that insurance fraud may have been or is being committed. We actively seek criminal indictments, make arrests and assist in prosecutions to deter insurance fraud in Alabama.

 



In 2016, the fraud unit reviewed a total of 1,541 referrals. Since January 1, 2017, 654 new cases have been received in SBS, 56 complaints were carried over cases from 2016 and 85 new complaints were received from other sources. The total complaints received for 2017 is 795. 141 of the 795 complaints have been assigned for investigation. Of the 141 cases assigned this year, 74 have been closed and 67 remain open. The Fraud Bureau currently has seven investigators, one forensic examiner and one assistant director. The mid-year statistics are listed below, compared to the total year of 2016.

Extra effort has been made during complaint screening, to better utilize resources on complaints that tend to have a more positive outcome. The 2017 drop in the negative outcomes (Unfounded, Statute of Limitations, and Lack of Info categories below), and the increase in the positive outcomes support this effort.

Total No. of cases worked January 2017 - June 2017:  141
 
  • No. of cases from Fraud Tip-Line:  43
  • No. of cases CLOSED: 74
    • Criminal Charges: 17 cases or 23%
    • No Prosecution: 13 cases or 18%
    • Other: 16 cases or 22%
    • Lack of Info: 2 cases or 3%
    • Statute of Limitations: 2 cases or 3%
    • UNFOUNDED: 3 cases or 4%
    • INACTIVE: 21 cases or 28%

Total No. of cases worked January 2016 - December 2016:  185
 
  • No. of cases from Fraud Tip-Line:  57
  • No. of cases CLOSED: 145
    • Criminal Charges: 23 cases or 16%
    • No Prosecution: 28 cases or 19%
    • Other: 21 cases or 14%
    • Lack of Info: 8 cases or 6%
    • Statute of Limitations: 9 cases or 6%
    • UNFOUNDED: 11 cases or 8%
    • INACTIVE: 45 cases or 31%



Name Position Contact
Scott Pilgreen State Fire Marshal 334-241-4166
Jim Finn Assistant Director James.Finn@insurance.alabama.gov
or 334-240-6526
Bart Lonergan  Fraud Investigator James.Lonergan@insurance.alabama.gov
Jimmy Collier  Fraud Investigator Jimmy.Collier@insurance.alabama.gov
Larry Coleman, Jr.  Fraud Investigator Larry.Coleman@insurance.alabama.gov
Matthew Tucker  Fraud Investigator Matthew.Tucker@insurance.alabama.gov
Patrick Crockett  Fraud Investigator Patrick.Crockett@insurance.alabama.gov
Roderick Reed Special Agent Roderick.Reed@insurance.alabama.gov
William Gordon  Fraud Investigator William.Gordon@insurance.alabama.gov
Cristi Owen Forensic Fraud Examiner Cristi.Owen@insurance.alabama.gov