Fraud Bureau


Mission Statement:

The Fraud Unit protects the public from economic harm by investigating allegations of criminal insurance fraud. Responsibilities include receiving and reviewing reports of fraud, initiating inquiries and conducting investigations when the Department has reason to believe that insurance fraud may have been or is being committed. We actively seek criminal indictments, make arrests and assist in prosecutions to deter insurance fraud in Alabama.

 


In 2016, the fraud unit reviewed a total of 1,541 referrals, assigned 185 for investigation and closed 145 of those. Since January 1, 2017, 872 new case referrals were received, 159 of those have been assigned for investigation and 96 cases have been closed. The Fraud Bureau currently has seven investigators, one referral intake employee, one forensic examiner and one assistant director. The statistics, to-date, are listed below, compared to the total year of 2016.

    Jan-Dec 2016 Jan-July 31 2017
  • Total cases worked:
  185 159
  • Cases Closed:
  145 96
       
 
  • Criminal Charges:
23 cases or 16% 28 cases or 29%
 
  • No Prosecution:
28 cases or 19% 14 cases or 15%
 
  • Other:
21 cases or 14% 16 cases or 17%
 
  • Lack of Info:
8 cases or 6% 6 cases or 6%
  • Statute of Limitiations:
9 cases or 6% 5 cases or 5%
 
  • Unfounded:
11 cases or 8% 5 cases or 5%
  • Inactive:
45 cases or 31% 22 cases or 23%
       



Name Position Contact
Scott Pilgreen State Fire Marshal 334-241-4166
Jim Finn Assistant Director James.Finn@insurance.alabama.gov
or 334-240-6526
Bart Lonergan  Fraud Investigator James.Lonergan@insurance.alabama.gov
Jimmy Collier  Fraud Investigator Jimmy.Collier@insurance.alabama.gov
Larry Coleman, Jr.  Fraud Investigator Larry.Coleman@insurance.alabama.gov
Matthew Tucker  Fraud Investigator Matthew.Tucker@insurance.alabama.gov
Patrick Crockett  Fraud Investigator Patrick.Crockett@insurance.alabama.gov
Roderick Reed Special Agent Roderick.Reed@insurance.alabama.gov
William Gordon  Fraud Investigator William.Gordon@insurance.alabama.gov
Cristi Owen Forensic Fraud Examiner Cristi.Owen@insurance.alabama.gov
Angie Shires ASA II Angela.Shires@insurance.alabama.gov